Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL 2020

4 titles in 7 seasons – that is what Mumbai Indians is now known for. Ever since Rohit Sharma took over the captaincy in 2013, the team has transformed itself into a force to reckon with, having won a title every alternate year after that. The defending champions have only strengthened their squad this time around with the likes of Chris Lynn and Nathan Coulter-Nile being brought into the fold.

Table of Contents:

Team Record of MI In IPL

Team Years M W L NR Win % Titles
MI 2008-2019 187 109 78 1 57.75 4


Last Year’s Performance

Unlike most seasons, Mumbai Indians performed well right from the initial phase of the tournament and continued their form throughout. With a healthy NRR and 9 wins out of the 14 league matches, MI topped the table. They won the qualifier against CSK comfortably before beating them once again in the final by a narrow margin of just 1 run and that too on the last ball of the match. With the 4th title win last year, MI is now the most successful team in IPL history. 

What can we Expect from MI in the 2020 season

One cannot shy away from the peculiarity of the pattern in which MI have won the titles. 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 – and hence many believe that 2020 will not be the year for MI. However, Rohit Sharma and the company will be keen to prove this “popular belief” wrong and win it this time with the amazing team they have – probably the best on paper. 

Current Squad of Mumbai Indians

The list of players of MI are:

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Anmolpreet Singh
  • Chris Lynn
  • Saurabh Tiwary
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Lasith Malinga
  • Mitchell McClenaghan
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Trent Boult
  • Mohsin Khan
  • Fabian Allen
  • Prince Balwant Rai Singh
  • Digvijay Deshmukh
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Anukul Roy

The players of fantasy leagues should note that there are a few new entries like Chris Lynn who further strengthens the team and should be considered while making IPL fantasy cricket teams.

Latest Acquisitions

Chris Lynn for Rs. 2 crore is a steal any day of the year and with him, MI now has an explosive and consistent batsman at the top to partner Rohit Sharma. They also brought back Saurabh Tiwary, who has featured for them in the earlier seasons. Australian fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile was their biggest and most surprising buy at Rs. 8 crores. Having not played any cricket for quite a few months now, Coulter-Nile has his task cut out to prove this price tag. Apart from these big buys, Mohsin Singh, Digvijay Deshmukh, and Prince Balwant Rai Singh are the three uncapped players they bought. 

MI will be playing this time around to prove that they can defend the title at least once, which they have failed to do all the four previous times. With the well-balanced team they have, they will be one of the favourites to go all out this time around.

Use Your Cricket Expertise to Earn Real Money

Brush up your cricket knowledge and team management skills to actively participate in Mumbai Indians matches. Download Gamezy fantasy cricket app, choose a contest, build your own dream fantasy team and start your fantasy cricket journey.

Other IPL Teams

Play Fantasy Cricket and Earn Over ₹3,00,000!
Play Now
Not a Player of Gamezy Fantasy Cricket Yet?

Download App and Get Rs. 50 Bonus!

Or, Refer a Friend to Earn Rs.100!

Refer now

* TnC