• Home
  • Blog
  • 5 Most Valuable Players in Indian T20 Premier League
5 Most Valuable Players in Indian T20 Premier League

Most Valuable Player in Indian T20 League

The Indian T20 Premier League is one of the world’s best and most-recognized cricket tournaments, with plenty of legends having grown their reputation here. The tournament runs during the summer and this year will be the 12th edition, promising to be bigger and better than ever before.

The Indian T20 League has seen some players perform consistently over the years, going on to bring extreme success to all of their teams. There have been some incredible players who have just grown over the years and here’s a list of the most valuable players across all seasons.

List of Most Valuable Players in Indian T20 Premier League

The top 5 most valuable Indian T20 League players are:

5. Shane Watson

Still rocking it at the age of 38, Shane Watson started his Indian T20 Premier League career off with the Rajasthan, going on to play a vital role in securing their first and only title in the tournament’s premier edition. Watson played for the Royals for a number of years, going on to make match-winning contributions for many years.

He was declared the player of the tournament in the first edition, scoring 472 runs in 15 matches and picking up 17 wickets as well. Watson then went on to win another title with the Chennai, scoring a century in the tournament’s final, while contributing in the other games as well.

4. Suresh Raina

The Chennai mainstay, Suresh Raina is one of the best batsmen to have played the Indian T20 Premier League, having gone on to make the most runs for the franchise as well as in the history of the tournament. Raina started off with Chennai and had a consistent run of almost 10 years scoring above 400 runs – being only batsmen to do so.

Raina has also won three titles with the Chennai team and contributed to some incredible knocks over the years. The batsman capitalized from his stint in the Indian T20 Premier League and cemented his place in the Indian team as well for years.

3. Adam Gilchrist

The legendary Australian keeper-batsman was tailor-made for this tournament and was an important player in Deccan Charger’s history. Gilly, as he is affectionately called was their captain when they won their inaugural Indian T20 Premier League trophy in 2009.

In that year, Gilchrist smashed 495 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of 152.30, powering his team to the final. Gilchrist had to lead a pack of talented and young cricketers, which included the likes of Rohit Sharma and he did so with style and substance in equal measure.

2. Virat Kohli

The current Indian captain and one of the best batsmen of all time, Virat Kohli is another player who went on to become a legendary figure for his Indian T20 Premier League team, Bangalore.

Kohli had plenty of great years but nothing comes close to the 2016 edition, where he hit an incredible 971 runs in a single edition, which is still the highest number of runs anyone has ever hit in a tournament.

1. MS Dhoni

The captain of the Chennai franchise and one of the most powerful hitters in the world, Dhoni is easily one of the most valuable players of the Indian T20 Premier League.

He led the team to three titles and a now-defunct Champions Trophy title as well and went on to play some legendary innings in the yellow jersey.

Head to Gamezy to enjoy the best in Indian T20 Premier League Fantasy cricket league and play on their daily fantasy cricket app to increase your chances of winning money this Indian T20 Premier League season!

Download Fantasy Cricket App here!

Share it with friends