• Home
  • Blog
  • Top 5 Skippers in Indian T20 Premier League Ever
Top 5 Skippers in Indian T20 Premier League Ever – Who are the Best Captains?

Top 5 Indian T20 Premier League Skippers Ever


Right from its first season, the Indian T20 Cricket Premier League has captured the attention of the world, thanks to the exciting cricketing action and some astute tactics and strategies. Amidst all the glamour and action associated with it, the most popular T20 league in the world has also seen some of the world’s best cricketing brains leading their teams to success. These captains have led their teams from the front, leaving a lasting impact on the tournament, be it with their tactics, or their performances with the bat or ball. We take a look at the 5 best Indian T20 Premier League skippers ever.

So, Who are the Top Indian T20 Premier League Skippers?

The top skippers ever in Indian T20 Premier League are:

1. MS Dhoni

The top spot was a tossup between MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma, with the latter having won more Indian T20 Premier League titles. However, for the sheer longevity at the helm, and the best winning percentage amongst the captains to have led the team in more than 30 games, MS Dhoni takes the spot for the best ever Indian T20 Premier League captain. He has led Chennai to 3 Indian T20 Premier League titles, along with winning the now defunct Champions League once. Dhoni has been the captain of a side in the Indian T20 Premier League in 174 matches, leading the team to victory in 104 of them. With the former India captain still active for what might just be his last Indian T20 Premier League, he is surely a great bet for your Indian T20 Premier Fantasy League team.

2. Rohit Sharma

In terms of the number of titles won, Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma leads the charge, with the team winning a record 4 titles under his leadership. Rohit Sharma took charge of the team midway through the 2013 campaign and led the team to the title in his debut campaign as captain, against all odds. Since then, under his leadership the team has embarked on a highly successful run, winning the title every alternate year. Add that his exemplary record as a top order batsman, being placed 3rd in the all-time run-scorers chart, and he is surely a candidate to be the captain of your fantasy cricket team.

3. Gautam Gambhir

The former India batsman will go down in the history of the Indian Premier League as one of the most revolutionary leaders in the tournament. Gambhir played for the Delhi Daredevils for the first 3 seasons in Indian T20 Premier League, even leading the team in one season. However, it was when he joined Kolkata in 2011 that his best as a captain came out. The former India opener transformed a struggling side into genuine contenders, leading the team to glory twice, in 2012 and 2014.

4. Shane Warne

The Australian legend led the unfancied Rajasthan in the first 3 seasons of Indian T20 Premier League. Shane Warne led the team to the title in the very first season, in a campaign where the team was the least favoured thanks to the dearth of star names in the squad. Even though he couldn’t inspire his team to match those heroics in the next two seasons, Warne will always be remembered as one of the best skippers in Indian T20 Premier League history.

5. David Warner

David Warner has been through a number of ups and downs throughout his career, but one thing you can’t deny is his brilliance in the Indian T20 Premier League. He is one of the most destructive and consistent batsmen in the league, and led Hyderabad from the front in the 2016 campaign. The team won their first title in that season, with Warner scoring a brilliant half-century in the final.


Share it with friends