Punjab Team in Indian T20 League

Punjab is one of the three teams that have played all seasons of Indian T20 Premier League but still have not managed to win a single title. One of the major problems with the team has been the constant changing and chopping in the squad, which has led to the team not really having a strong and consistent core. They have gone for a slightly better approach this time around by retaining the majority of last year’s performers and then getting some big buys in the auction pool to bolster the team. They will be hoping to at least reach the playoffs in Indian T20 Premier League 2020.

Table of Contents:

Punjab Fantasy Cricket Matches in Indian T20 Premier League

Punjab vs Chennai Fantasy Matches Punjab vs Delhi Fantasy Matches
Punjab vs Kolkata Fantasy Matches Punjab vs Mumbai Fantasy Matches
Punjab vs Rajasthan Fantasy Matches Punjab vs Bangalore Fantasy Matches
Punjab vs Hyderabad Fantasy Matches

Punjab 2020 Schedule for Indian T20 Premier League Fantasy Matches

Match Number Date Teams Venue Time
Match 2 Monday, 30th March 2020 Delhi Vs Punjab Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi 20:00
Match 7 Saturday, 4th April 2020 Punjab Vs Hyderabad IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00
Match 12 Wednesday, 8th April 2020 Punjab Vs Mumbai IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00
Match 15 Saturday, 11th April 2020 Chennai Vs Punjab M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai 20:00
Match 19 Tuesday, 14th April 2020 Punjab Vs Bangalore IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00
Match 22 Friday, 17th April 2020 Punjab Vs Chennai IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00
Match 26 Monday, 20th April 2020 Mumbai Vs Punjab Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 20:00
Match 29 Thursday, 23rd April 2020 Kolkata Vs Punjab Eden Gardens, Kolkata 20:00
Match 32 Sunday, 26th April 2020 Punjab Vs Kolkata IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 16:00
Match 36 Wednesday, 29th April 2020 Rajasthan Vs Punjab Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 20:00
Match 40 Sunday, 3rd May, 2020 Bangalore Vs Punjab M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 16:00
Match 46 Friday, 8th May, 2020 Punjab Vs Rajasthan IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00
Match 51 Tuesday, 12th May, 2020 Hyderabad Vs Punjab Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad 20:00
Match 55 Saturday, 16th May, 2020 Punjab Vs Delhi IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 20:00

Team Record of Punjab In Indian T20 Premier League

Team Years M W L NR Win % Titles
MI 2008-2019 176 82 94 0 46.02 0

Last Year’s Performance

Punjab has always been slow starters but it was not the case last year. They performed quite well with both KL Rahul and Chris Gayle among the runs. However, a weak bowling department meant that they could not finish the games the way they wanted. Punjab were sitting pretty well in the top half of the table but 5 continuous losses in the business end of the league stage meant that they could not qualify for the playoffs. They finished 6th on the table.

What can we Expect from Punjab in the 2020 season

The team let go of their captain from the previous season R Ashwin, trading him with Delhi. India opener KL Rahul has been handed the reigns of the team and will be hoping to bring about a change in the fortunes of the team with new head coach Anil Kumble. With players like KL Rahul, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Mohammed Shami and Nicholas Pooran in fine form, they have a set of first-team players whom they can rely on. Moreover, with impact signings in the shape of Sheldon Cottrell, Glen Maxwell, Chris Jordan, and James Neesham, they have built one of the most exciting squads. With such a fine line-up, the least we can expect from them is to qualify for the playoffs and probably win the title that has eluded them all these years.

Current Squad of Punjab

The list of players in Punjab are:

  • Chris Gayle
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Karun Nair
  • Sarfaraz Khan
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Ishan Porel
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mujeeb ur Rahman
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Hardus Viljoen
  • M Ashwin
  • J Suchith
  • Harpreet Brar
  • Darshan Nalkande
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • James Neesham
  • Chris Jordan
  • Krishnappa Gowtham
  • Deepak Hooda

The players of fantasy cricket are required to keep an eye on the playing 11 and the latest news about the players before making their dream Indian T20 Premier fantasy League team for Punjab matches.

Latest Acquisitions

Punjab went all out in the auctions as they had the biggest purse. Glen Maxwell and Sheldon Cottrell were their big-money signings and should go directly into the playing XI. Apart from them, Chris Jordan and Ravi Bishnoi were the other multiple-crore signings. However, one of their smartest buys was that of James Neesham for just Rs. 50 Lakhs, given his amazing current run of form. Deepak Hooda and Prabhsimran Singh were their other two major Indian signings. 

Punjab does look strong on paper and if they play with the right combinations and can manage some consistent performances this time around, they should be in contention for not just a playoff place but also for winning the title. 

Play Fantasy Cricket and Win Real Money Daily

Start earning real cash using your cricket knowledge by playing fantasy cricket on the Gamezy app. For a Punjab match, choose your favourite players, select your captain and vice-captain, and join a contest. Beat other players and be on top of the leaderboard to win big.

Other Indian T20 Premier League Teams

Play Fantasy Cricket and Earn Over ₹3,00,000!
Play Now
Not a Player of Gamezy Fantasy Cricket Yet?

Download App and Get Rs. 50 Bonus!

Or, Refer a Friend to Earn Rs.100!

Refer now

* TnC